Architecture was one of the four original departments at MIT, with fall 2018 marking the 150th anniversary of architectural education at MIT. The Department conceives of architecture as a discipline as well as a profession, with five semi-autonomous discipline groups: Architecture + Urbanism; Building Technology; Computation; History, Theory and Criticism of Architecture and Art; and Art, Culture and Technology. Each provides an architectural education that is as complex as the field itself, and all five contribute to a mutual enterprise.